Cover Reveals

Book Cover Reveal: The Case of the Missing Firefly by Chris McDonald

It’s time for another book cover reveal, this one is Chris McDonald’s latest book, it is book four in the Stonebridge Mysteries, the previous books have had some cracking covers so this one has a lot to live up to.

So here we go, the cover…

The Case of the Missing Firefly by Chris McDonald

Fantastic looking cover, lives up to expectations and fits in with the series perfectly.

What Da Cover Says:

The notoriously hard-drinking, backstabbing Stonebridge Radio crew are having their Hallowe’en party on Winkle Island, rumoured to be the most haunted place in Northern Ireland. Unfortunately, Adam and Colin are there too, having accepted an easy payday from Colin’s event organising mother.

At dinner, a shocking announcement is followed by an even more shocking murder, and the theft of a priceless Firefly necklace. To top it all, thanks to a raging storm, everyone is trapped on the island.

Faced with devious radio presenters, a strange tour guide, and a rampaging murderer, Adam and Colin are back in business.

The Case of the Missing Firefly is the fourth in the Stonebridge Mysteries series of cosy crime novellas.

You can Pre-Order in paperback, hardback or eBook from HERE:

The previous covers in the series:

Cover Reveals

Book Cover Reveal: Out Front the Following Sea by Leah Angstman

Well this is super exciting, my first ever cover reveal, seeing as I have never done one of these before I’ve no idea how to lay this out so I am just gonna wing it…leave the complaints in the comments as per usual. When I am looking for a new book to read (I mean add to the huge tbr pile) the cover is the most important thing, if the cover draws me in then I’m gonna give it a go, if the it is uninspired I’m gonna skip it, this process has never let me down…so no pressure on Leah Angstman for being my first in the cover revealing business.

So with no more delays here is the cover for…..

OUT FRONT THE FOLLOWING SEA: A Novel of King William’s War in 17th-Century New England BY LEAH ANGSTMAN

Sooooooo……I’m impressed, nice choice of colours and I really like the bold edges to the illustrations and there is enough happening on the front to draw me in, pick up the book and look closer. The title is intriguing and the seemingly abandoned lady on the cliff edge leaves you wondering what it is all about. The question is “is it good enough to earn a spot on my bookshelf?” HELL YEAH IT IS!!!!

What’s the book about?

OUT FRONT THE FOLLOWING SEA is a historical epic of one woman’s survival in a time when the wilderness is still wild, heresy is publicly punishable, and being independent is worse than scorned—it is a death sentence.

At the onset of King William’s War between French and English settlers in 1689 New England, Ruth Miner is accused of witchcraft for the murder of her parents and must flee the brutality of her town. She stows away on the ship of the only other person who knows her innocence: an audacious sailor—Owen—bound to her by years of attraction, friendship, and shared secrets. But when Owen’s French ancestry finds him at odds with a violent English commander, the turmoil becomes life-or-death for the sailor, the headstrong Ruth, and the cast of Quakers, Pequot Indians, soldiers, highwaymen, and townsfolk dragged into the fray. Now Ruth must choose between sending Owen to the gallows or keeping her own neck from the noose. Steeped in historical events and culminating in a little-known war on pre-American soil, OUT FRONT THE FOLLOWING SEA is a story of early feminism, misogyny, arbitrary rulings, persecution, and the treatment of outcasts, with parallels still mirrored and echoed in today’s society. The debut novel will appeal to readers of Paulette Jiles, Alexander Chee, Hilary Mantel, James Clavell, Bernard Cornwell, TaraShea Nesbit, Geraldine Brooks, Stephanie Dray, Patrick O’Brian, and E. L. Doctorow.

Publication Date: January 11, 2022

Regal House Publishing

Hardcover, Paperback, eBook, Audiobook; 334 pages

Genre: Historical / Literary / Epic

**Shortlisted for the Chaucer Book Award**

Who is the author then?

Leah Angstman is a historian and transplanted Michigander living in Boulder. OUT FRONT THE FOLLOWING SEA, her debut novel of King William’s War in 17th-century New England, is forthcoming from Regal House in January 2022. Her writing has been a finalist for the Saluda River Prize, Cowles Book Prize, Able Muse Book Award, Bevel Summers Fiction Prize, and Chaucer Book Award, and has appeared in Publishers Weekly, L.A. Review of Books, Nashville Review, Slice, and elsewhere. She serves as editor-in-chief for Alternating Current and The Coil magazine and copyeditor for Underscore News, which has included editing partnerships with ProPublica. She is an appointed vice chair of a Colorado historical commission and liaison to a Colorado historic preservation committee.

Links for stalkers!

WEBSITE

TWITTER

FACEBOOK

GOODREADS

INSTAGRAM

MEDIUM

ELLO

MAILING LIST

Here’s the cover again 🙂

Praise

“With OUT FRONT THE FOLLOWING SEA, Leah Angstman reveals herself as a brave new voice in historical fiction. With staggering authenticity, Angstman gives us a story of America before it was America—an era rife with witch hunts and colonial intrigue and New World battles all but forgotten in our history books and popular culture. This is historical fiction that speaks to the present, recalling the bold spirits and cultural upheavals of a nation yet to be born.”

—Taylor Brown, author of PRIDE OF EDEN, GODS OF HOWL MOUNTAIN, and THE RIVER OF KINGS

“OUT FRONT THE FOLLOWING SEA is a fascinating book, the kind of historical novel that evokes its time and place so vividly that the effect is just shy of hallucinogenic. I enjoyed it immensely.”

—Scott Phillips, author of THE ICE HARVEST, THE WALKAWAY, COTTONWOOD, and HOP ALLEY

So you want a copy of the book?

AVAILABLE FOR PREORDER

Print copy from REGAL HOUSE or amazon kindle

You can also request an ARC from TNBBC PUBLICITY

That’s it, my first cover reveal done. I’ll update it soon once I’ve read and reviewed the book.

Cheers