Book Reviews

Charles Middleworth by Guy Portman

 

15786243

What da cover says:   What happens when Adrian, an actuary, has his banal and predictable existence turned upside down by sinister forces that he can neither understand nor control?

How will he react to a revelation that leaves his life in turmoil? Will he surrender or strive for redemption in an altered world, where rationality, scientific
logic and algorithms no longer provide the answers?

What I says:  I read this book on my Kindle:

•Less than 170 grams – lighter than a paperback, fits in your pocket
•New darker, hand-tuned fonts for easier reading
•Reads like paper with no glare, even in bright sunlight
•Download books in 60 seconds with built-in Wi-Fi
•Holds up to 1,400 books – take your library wherever you go

This book was nothing like I expected, it took a while to get used the characters but Adrian is going down as one of my favourites of all time, I found him to be a bit like Sheldon from the big bang theory. I really enjoyed how he sees an object and can recall the specs straight away, hence my homage to him above about the Kindle.

There is a cracking plot and reading how Adrian deals with the situation and to see him evolve made for a great read.

Guy Portman is one of the top Transgressive writers out there and I highly recommend any of his books.

5_stars

Leave a comment